Author Interview with Gary Goldstein

Gary Goldstein, Author of Jew in Jail (True Crime)

Gary Goldstein was born on October 18, 1961 in Brooklyn, New York. He obtained a Bachelor of Arts Degree in Journalism from Long Island University in 1983 and is a selected member of Sigma Delta Chi.

Before Gary’s conviction, he worked for both CBS News and Sports, and NBC Sports, as a journalist, and has also worked at other media outlets and sports production companies in the Tri-State area as well. Since his release in 2004, Gary has also been employed in the construction industry, but is now retired.

Gary is single and has no children. He enjoys reading, writing, music, working out, spending time with family and friends, dating, and going to the beach, and still resides in his hometown of Brooklyn, New York, where he is currently working on his next book project. You may contact Gary at Gman18nyc@aol.com.

Annie K. Johnson – What inspired you to become an author?

Gary Goldstein – I have always wanted to write a book, although, obviously, not under these conditions of becoming incarcerated.  However, once I knew that my fate was going to be serving time in prison, I decided to write “Jew in Jail,” and was inspired to do so once my beloved late father, Irving Goldstein, passed away from the effects of lung cancer and emphysema on January 23, 1999, which was only 15 days after I had been sentenced, and still on Rikers Island waiting to be transported north to a correctional facility.  My father had always encouraged me to be my best, and offered unending support my entire life, so I wanted to honor my father by dedicating “Jew in Jail” to how special my father was to me.

In addition, the other reason why I wrote “Jew in Jail” was to show anyone that whatever obstacles appear in one’s life – and in my case it was the disease of addiction – it is possible to overcome them and go on to lead a positive and fruitful life.  These days, aside from being a published author, I am also a motivational and inspirational speaker on the topic of recovery from addiction, and get so much out of helping others.

AKJ – What do you consider your greatest strength as a writer?

GG – I believe that would be my crisp, concise style, and being able to provide my readers with a “picture” of what is happening to my characters.  It allows my readers to feel as if they know my characters personally, and can empathize with their situation.

AKJ – What do you want readers to take away from your book?

GG – I want them to develop an understanding of addiction and how to protect against this dreaded disease, and also avoid prison as a result.  The bottom line is that we are all human beings, and as such, are susceptible to times of weakness, feelings of insecurity and lack of self-esteem, and should never be ashamed to ask for help when necessary.

AKJ – Who has been the biggest influence on your life? What lessons did that person teach you?

GG – That would definitely have to be my father, Irving Goldstein, who taught me to work hard, have respect, and be generous and kind to others.

AKJ – What is your greatest pet peeve?

GG – That I can’t seem to stop being my own worst critic, and find it hard at times to give myself the credit I deserve.

AKJ – How would you like to be remembered by people?

GG – I would like to be remembered as a good human being who had unlimited potential, and no matter what he tried, gave everything he had to the task at hand.

AKJ – What was the happiest moment of your life?

GG – Being welcomed back home (after I was released from prison in 2004) by my mother and the rest of my family, who showed unwavering support to me through the most difficult time of my life.

AKJ – What are the most important lessons you’ve learned in life?

GG – To never take anything for granted, and to treat people the same way I want to be treated.  In addition, I also learned that family is the most important thing in life, because no person will love you unconditionally like a family member will.  Material things such as money, cars and jewelry will come and go, but one’s family is a constant that will never disappear.

Leave a comment